ILANZ, In-House Lawyers Association of New Zealand


ILANZ Awards 2023

The ILANZ Awards celebrate the in-house legal profession’s leadership and excellence in the provision of legal services in Aotearoa, New Zealand. 

We are pleased to bring to you a new award, the ILANZ Sole In-house Lawyer of the Year Award, which recognises an in-house lawyer who operates an in-house legal function (either as a standalone function or as part of a specific business unit or function within the organisation) and has made a valuable contribution to their organisation. 


Individual awards:

  • Public Sector In-house Lawyer of the Year
  • Private Sector In-house Lawyer of the Year
  • New In-house Lawyer of the Year
  • Sole In-house Lawyer of the Year


Team awards:

  • Small In-house Team of the Year* 
  • Private Sector In-house Team of the Year
  • Public Sector In-house Team of the Year


Special awards:

  • People & Culture Excellence Award
  • In-house Innovation Award
  • Community Contribution Award 

Visit our Terms and Conditions and Awards Criteria for the full awards breakdown.
*no more than 10 full-time equivalent lawyers

How to submit a nomination?

  1. Download the fillable nomination form below (or word doc here)
  2. Submit the nomination form and any supporting documents mentioned in the form to ILANZ via email: ILANZ Awards Committee, c/- Bev Armstrong, ILANZ Manager, [email protected] 



Key dates:

  • Friday, 17 March: Nominations close at 5pm
  • Friday, 28 July: Winners announced at the Niche Gala Dinner