ILANZ, In-House Lawyers Association of New Zealand


Awards 2023

We were ecstatic at the record number of nominations we received for the 2023 ILANZ Awards. The quality of submissions reflects the immense talent and dedication within our in-house community. Our judges want to emphasise each nominee should be proud of their achievements, regardless of the final outcome, and we look forward to receiving your entries for the 2024 ILANZ Awards. 


Congratulations to the 2023 ILANZ Awards finalists below. 


Individual award finalists:

MC Public Sector In-house Lawyer of the Year

  • Adrien Hunter, Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation
  • Helen Wild, Auckland Council
  • Marama Broughton, Te Arawhiti - Office for Māori Crown Relations
  • Marie Callander, Tasman District Council
  • Rachel Boyte, Bay of Plenty Regional Council

Greenwood Roche Private Sector In-house Lawyer of the Year

  • Kirsten Clayton, Contact Energy
  • Penny Bower, Waste Management NZ
  • Penny Hoogerwerf, Tait Communications

MAS New In-house Lawyer of the Year

  • Brianna Boxall, Te Ohu Kaimoana Trust
  • Brooke Magill, Auckland Council
  • Claire Barron, Oji Fibre Solutions

Sole In-house Lawyer of the Year

  • Amir Ansari, Tourism Holdings Limited
  • Jack Lynskey, Wealthpoint
  • Susan Hur, GMP Pharmaceuticals


Team award finalists:

Tompkins Wake Small In-house Team of the Year

  • Calder Stewart Group
  • MAS
  • Nelson City Council
  • Rabobank
  • Silver Fern Farms

Chapman Tripp Private Sector In-house Team of the Year

  • AIA New Zealand
  • Beca
  • Xero

Public Sector In-house Team of the Year

  • Auckland Council
  • Crown Infrastructure Partners
  • Dunedin City Council
  • Legal, Ethics, & Privacy Branch of the Ministry of Business, Innovation, & Employment


Special award finalists:

Simpson Grierson People & Culture Excellence Award

  • Contact Energy
  • Engineering New Zealand
  • Tasman District Council
  • Tuatahi First Fibre

Artemis In-house Innovation Award

  • Marama Broughton, Te Arawhiti - Office for Māori Crown Relations
  • Nelson City Council
  • Xero

ComplyWith Community Contribution Award 

  • Karyn O’Loughlin
  • Lanu Faletau Tuku'aho
  • Shirlene Anand
  • Takeshi Ito

We look forward to celebrating our award finalists at the Niche Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony on Friday 28 July at Mercury Baypark, Tauranga.

This event follows the 2023 ILANZ Conference, and tickets are included in your registration. Register for conference online