ILANZ, In-House Lawyers Association of New Zealand


Insider May + President's Column

Insider May + President's Column

By Website Administrator , | May 2, 2022 at 2:58 PM


Kia ora koutou 

Firstly, I would like to give a warm welcome to our incoming ILANZ committee members. We’re delighted to have a good spread of representation across-regions and different organisation types. I look forward to the fresh ideas and wealth of knowledge you will all bring to ILANZ. Because the ILANZ conference has been delayed until October due to COVID, the new ILANZ committee will take office at that time. A minor rule change to facilitate this was passed at the 2022 AGM last week. 

I would like to thank Tiana Epati for her time as President of the New Zealand Law Society. Under Ms Epati’s strong and dedicated leadership, NZLS welcomed Te Hunga Rōia Māori o Aotearoa and Pacific Lawyers Association to its council as permanent members. This was a historic moment for the legal profession and has ensured Māori and Pacific voices are heard. Ms Epati has continued to advocate for Access to Justice, and she oversaw significant changes to the Conduct and Client Care Rules to ensure that all lawyers are able to work in an environment free from bullying, harassment and unacceptable behaviour. ILANZ welcomes Jacque Lethbridge as new President of NZLS. Ms Lethbridge started out as an in-house lawyer, and we are looking forward to working alongside her and the Board on matters relevant to in-house lawyers. Ms Lethbridge recognises the amazing work ILANZ does in connecting in-house lawyers and looks forward to advancing the cause as President.

I am delighted to see a record number of nominations for the ILANZ Awards this year! By having separate award categories for small, private sector and public sector in-house teams and a brand new People & Culture Excellence Award, we are excited to have the chance to recognise and celebrate a broader range of teams and achievements than ever before. Finalists will be announced end of May. I would like to thank our current award sponsors - Greenwood Roche, MAS, Chapman Tripp, Artemis, as well as the new Community Contribution Award sponsor, Comply With. 


Grant Pritchard
ILANZ President